The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithograph, destroyed
Record 2 of 2

System Number: 03399
Date: [22 July 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 152
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Tom -

I have not written to you for an age - and I have sent you no lithographs! But we must hope that all this will change soon for the better -

We are not yet well[4] - and of course I was greatly behindhand with much work that is even yet not quite finished.

[p. 2] In the mean time however here is this matter of the new magazine[5] -

Well, as I told Mr. Shannon[6], you can print for him an edition, for his paper, of "The Doctor[7]" - under exactly the same conditions as heretofore with the Studio[8] and the others - Making a transfer of course and keeping the original stone untouched for my proofs -

I cannot at present write as I would do, if I were not still greatly preoccupied -

[p. 3] But say many nice things to your Father[9] for me - Among them however tell him I do not share his approval of any of the work I did this last time in England! - and wish every trace of that sad visit removed -

It was mad to think that, under the circumstances, I should be able to do anything - Wherefore wipe out at once the Ly Haden[10] - The view out of the window in Wellington Street[11] - and whatever else I had the folly to think I was doing when really all my thoughts were elsewhere - Show none of these things to anyone - And now how can Mr. Keppel[12] [p. 4] have known anything about this, absurd drawing of the Ly Haden when I have only had the two proofs you sent me and have never shown them to a soul! Also I have not seen Keppel! -

I hope soon to send you something pretty - or rather some pretty things -

The portrait had better be called (in the magazine,) simply "The Doctor" - That will do for the present -

Very sincerely, my dear Tom

J McN Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


Thomas Way. Junr.
21. Wellington Street
[postmark:] PARIS / [ ] / 195 BD ST GERMAIN / IE 22 / JUIL / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / W C / S. M. P. / A M / JY 23 / 95


1.  22 July 1895
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 132, no. 137.

4.  We are not yet well
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], had been diagnosed with cancer, and the Whistlers had visited London to consult doctors there.

5.  magazine
The Pageant, a new journal edited by C. H. Shannon and Joseph William Gleeson White (1851-1898), writer on art, first editor of the Studio [more].

6.  Mr. Shannon
Charles Hazlewood Shannon (1863-1937), painter and lithographer [more].

7.  The Doctor
The Doctor (C.110); although machine-printed by the Ways in August, it did not appear until the first edition of the journal finally appeared in November 1896.

8.  Studio
For example, Chelsea Rags (C.26) appeared in The Albemarle, January 1892 as a 'Song on Stone', and Gants de suède (C.35) was published in The Studio, vol. 1, no. 3, 16 April 1894.

9.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

10.  Ly Haden
Unfinished Sketch of Lady Haden (C.116).

11.  Wellington Street
Back of the Gaiety Theatre (C.117); it was drawn from the Ways' office.

12.  Mr. Keppel
Frederick Keppel (1845-1912), New York print dealer [more].