UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: subjects, portrait
Record 6 of 56

System Number: 09643
Date: [May 1881/1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Call Number: Met 192 W57/W576
Document Type: ALS


Dimanche, mon cher Duret, je dois aller à la campagne - et demain j'ai une séance pour le portrait de la grande dame[3] en gris que vous avez vu commencer - Donc à mon grand regret je ne vous verrais pas cette fois ci -

Mais revennez me trouver des que vous serez de retour - car j'aurais je crois, bien des choses à vous montrer - En attendant mille souhaits [aimables?] pour votre votre [sic] voyage -

Toujours votre devoué

J. Mc.N. Whistler

13 Tite Street

Je suis tout à fait accablé de someil et de fatigue et ne trouve que ce bout de papier! -

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Translation:

On Sunday, my dear Duret, I have to go into the country - and tomorrow I have a sitting with the great lady in grey which you saw begun - So to my great regret I shall not see you this time -

But come and see me as soon as you return - because I think I will have many things to show you - Meanwhile many [good] wishes for your your [sic] journey -

Always your devoted

J. Mc.N. Whistler

13 Tite Street

I am altogether overcome with sleep and tiredness and can only find this small piece of paper! -

[butterfly signature]


Notes:

1.  [May 1881/1882]
Dated from address and reference to The Grey Lady: Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 241).

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  portrait de la grande dame
The Grey Lady: Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 241); it was never completed.