UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: transport
Record 20 of 23

System Number: 09487
Date: [22/25 August 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: Etretat
Recipient: George Washington Vanderbilt[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: The Biltmore Company, Ashville, North Carolina, U.S.A.
Document Type: ALS


Etretat -

My dear Mr Vanderbilt -

Your card[3] was forwarded to me here - where I have taken a place by the Normandy beach -

I was delighted to receive your letter and at the same time quite shocked to hear your threat of sudden departure for [p. 2] America! I certainly never looked forward to any such undue haste in the midst of the work we have on the easel! -

You know that a picture of the kind ought not, and indeed cannot be hurried without risk of ruin -

However we will talk of this when we meet - I go to London again by tonights boat - and come here from time to time to rest -

Write to me to 8 Fitzroy Street - and say when you are to appear in London - and we will arrange for the sittings -

I shall be seeing your Cousin[4] who is charming and who will doubtlessly have heard from you -

Very sincerely Yrs

J McNeill Whistler

Sorry not to have been in Paris with you!


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [22/25 August 1897]
This probably dates from after JW's letter to L. Kinsella, [20 August 1897], #11053, when JW wrote of his intention to join the Birnie Philips at Etretat 'for a few days.' In a letter to Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], [27 August 1897], JW mentioned that 'Vanderbilt appears tomorrow!' (#04717).

2.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more]. Vanderbilt had recently asked JW to paint his portrait; see G. Vanderbilt to JW, 18 May 1897, #05914 (see Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481) and Portrait of George Vanderbilt (M.1505)).

3.  Your card
Untraced.

4.  your Cousin
Unidentified.