UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: transport
Record 16 of 23

System Number: 08413
Date: [16 February 1896[1]]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: David Croal Thomson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC D/14
Document Type: ALS[3]


'Recd 17/2/96'

De Vere House - De Vere Gardens
Kensington Palace -

Sunday.

Dear Mr. Thomson -

A line to say that I have heard from my servant that it was all understood about the picture[4] - and that they were to call from your Paris House to take it away from the Studio yesterday -

You might write and [p. 2] tell me what you have heard about it - and let me know when it is to arrive. -

I would like to be there and settle where we could best see it -

I think it will be all right about the studio[5] directly -

[butterfly signature]

You are to have a lovely proof of the "little Evelyn[6]" in a day or two - They are printing especially for me -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
D. C. Thomson Esq -
The Goupil Galleries
5. Regent Street -
W.
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] KENSINGTON / FE 17 / 96
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S.W. / AP / FE 17 / 96


Notes:

1.  16 February 1896
Dated by the almanac and postmark. The date of receipt is written on p. 1 by the recipient.

2.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

3.  ALS
'77C' is written in another hand in red ink at the top left, '176' in pencil at the bottom right of p. 1 and also on the envelope.

4.  picture
A note by Thomson in the left margin of p. 1 reads 'Full length lady'.

5.  studio
JW briefly worked in the studio of Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more], and John Singer Sargent (1856-1925), artist [more].

6.  little Evelyn
Little Evelyn (C.146), a portrait of Thomson's daughter.