UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: costume, clothes
Record 12 of 19

System Number: 08018
Date: [13 June 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/8
Document Type: ALS[3]


HÔTEL DU TIBRE
8, RUE DU HELDER, 8
PARIS
PARIS LE

__ 188

What can you mean!- Why have I no report from you this morning? I told you to write to this address any how so that no time should be lost - for even if I could not have got a room they knew me and would keep your letters -

Must I always explain!

Moreover at the Station again I told William[4] that he was at once to post to me here the copies in French of my letter to Alfred Stevens[5], and his [p. 2] letter[6] to the R B A resigning - why was that not done

Tell John[7] that he has again made a mess of the packing and I cannot conceive what he could be thinking about when he left out my white waistcoat altogether so that I am obliged to go about in my thick clothes. altogether For I cannot even wear my thin serge trousers as he has not put up the serge waistcoat with them - and what he expected me to do with the white trousers I am sure I don't know - did he think I was going to wear a black cloth waistcoat with them!!

[p. 3] Of course there is no use sending the letters tomorrow -

I shall either leave tomorrow night, or early on Saturday in which latter case I shall be in time for dinner - tell Lizzie[8] a small dinner for two, or three - very simple - Soup and small leg of lamb -

Sunday breakfast - of which more tomorrow - Tell John to take the enclosed letter to Mrs Tennant[9] and tomorrow morning by 10 o'clock, and ask for if there is an answer - The number in Grosvenor Square you will find in the Red Book - Sir Charles (or something) Tennant[10] - MP - Grosvenor Square -

I cannot[11] understand why you have not written

Send Miss Rosie Pettigrew to Mrs Godwin[12]

J McN Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [13 June 1888]
Dated from JW's reference to returning by or on Saturday, and JW's letter to C. J. W. Hanson, #08008, to which this letter appears to relate closely.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  ALS
Written at right-angles to the printed address.

4.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

5.  letter to Alfred Stevens
Alfred Émile-Léopold Stevens (1823-1906), history and portrait painter [more]. For JW's letter see #08137; see also #08138.

6.  letter
See A. Stevens to the Council of the Royal Society of British Artists, #05575.

7.  John
A servant.

8.  Lizzie
Elizabeth (Lizzie) Simkin, a servant, possibly a cook.

9.  Mrs Tennant
Emma Tennant (1828-1895), née Winsloe, wife of Sir Charles Tennant. The letter has not been located.

10.  Charles (or something) Tennant
Sir Charles Tennant (1823-1906), Liberal MP, 1st Baronet [more].

11.  cannot
Double underlined.

12.  Send Miss ... Godwin
Written diagonally across the bottom left corner. 'Rosie Pettigrew' was Rose Amy Pettigrew (b. 1872), a model, later Mrs Warner [more]; and 'Mrs Godwin' was Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].