UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: family
Record 35 of 67

System Number: 08013
Date: 22 November [1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/44/13
Document Type: ALS


Royal Lion - Lyme Regis -
Dorset -

Nov. 22.

Enclosed £20.

Now my dear Mr. Hanson,

I am going to send you the £20— you ask for, to help you out with this patent of yours & to enable you to produce & furnish the order given you -

All this is difficult for me - You have had what seems to you a very hard time - but your trials are really nothing - they only concern yourself - I suppose you never thought of it in this light! - What does it matter that you sometimes eat little - and are not so comfortably lodged [p. 2] as you might like to be? - You have no other ends but your own - & what are they? - By & bye they will be remembered even with pleasure, as proofs of something like pluck - and self respect -

I don't complain of your conduct - I have no reason to do so - Frankly I believe you behave well - and are persevering in your work - & I doubt not it will all come out right - Capt. McEvoy's[3] account of you was excellent - But if you were a Genius, - which indeed you might be for aught I know! - I cannot be always prepared to help you! -

J. McN. Whistler

Write at once, & let me know of safe arrival of cheque.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

[registered letter:] Registered

To
Charles Hanson. Esq
11. Great Ormond Street.
London -
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND INLAND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 2 D
[postmark:] LYME·REGIS / A / NO 23 / 95


Notes:

1.  22 November [1895]
Year date from the postmark.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Capt. McEvoy's
Captain Charles A. McEvoy (b. ca 1836), electrical engineer [more].