UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: gift from JW
Record 29 of 45

System Number: 06076
Date: [September/November 1890?][1]
Author: Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W73
Document Type: ALS


James

your charming present[3] has been occupying my mind ever since it arrived. By a singular chapter of accidents I had not seen it before. On it I have much much, much, to say to you when we meet, which I hope [p. 2] will be at Mrs Joplings[4] tomorrow night, and yet I half fear to meet so pugnacious a genius. My scalp is an unimportant one: moreover, 'tis getting pretty bald, and yet tis mine own - "a poor thing but mine own" Jimmy and I tremble for it.

In

Theodore


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [September/November 1890?]
Dated by reference to a 'present', which, if a copy of the 'Gentle Art' (see below), indicates a date of summer 1890. It is unlikely though that Louise Jopling would have been planning a dinner party during the summer months, hence the autumn date.

2.  Walter Théodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

3.  present
Possibly Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, London and New York, 1890. Around 21/22 September 1890 JW sent George W. Rowe, lawyer, third husband of Louise Jopling [more], some cuttings of letters from the press, but this is unlikely to be the gift referred to here.

4.  Mrs Joplings
Louise Jopling (1843-1933), née Goode, later Mrs Jopling-Rowe, artist [more]. She was a popular hostess and held 'Salons' or 'At homes' frequented by artists, patrons, and a wide circle of friends.