UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Album, see portfolio
Record 19 of 26

System Number: 05802
Date: 10 February 1894
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T147
Document Type: ALS


P[2]

DARTMOUTH TOWER,
HIGHGATE. N. W.
London

Feby 10th 1894

Dear Mr Whistler,

Your letter arrived too late for me to answer yesterday.

The Music Room[3] has been sold to day for a little over £200, we were willing to give that amount & we had arranged accordingly but it went one bid over that to a Glasgow dealer called Paterson[4], a decent little man recently started

[p. 2] The bidding was very very slow & only Paterson was in the field against it. As we have written to Mdm Revillon[5] to day, since the sale, we could have got far f more for her, but her lowest price was always 500 guineas & she would not hear of any reduction even although we telegraphed one day for it. As she sent it to Christies[6] against our wish, there was no reason why we should support her further than what was an amazing bargain.

[p. 3] Art Journal. I have only had the photographs taken of the Little White Girl & Nocturne[7] & will send them to you before making the blocks.

Yes the 3 Lithographs reached us two of one subject & one of another

You mention about the Album[8], but I am not sure what you mean. Were we to send copies for signing?

'Lord Jones'[9] is quite funny: young [p. 4] Phillip[10] will be more cocky than ever.

Heineman[11] has been buying a lot of Japanese prints from Durets[12] collection here

On the 24th we have a collection of Steers[13] things which promises well.

I have a severe cold & am not very well, but well occupied as usual.

Yours vy truly

D. C. Thomson.

I still have an idea that a Little "sur les Toits[14]" would be best for the A J[15].


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  P
It is not clear whether this initial means anything.

3.  The Music Room
Harmony in Green and Rose: The Music Room (YMSM 34) was auctioned at Christie's, London on 10 February 1894 (lot 69), and bought by Collin or Collard for £199.10.0.

4.  Paterson
William Paterson, Glasgow art dealer.

5.  Mdm Revillon
Julia de Kay Revillon (1855-1930), née Whistler, JW's niece [more].

6.  Christies
See above.

7.  Little White Girl & Nocturne
Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), and Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Cremorne Lights (YMSM 115). The Little White Girl was reproduced in Anon., 'Art and Mr. Whistler,' The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894, pp. 358-361, 1894.

8.  You mention about the Album
JW had asked about 'copies of the Album'; that is a selection of photographs of oil paintings, mostly those exhibited at Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892, see #08284.

9.  'Lord Jones'
Edward Coley Burne-Jones (1833-1898), painter and designer [more]; JW referred to him as the 'new Baronet'; see #08284.

10.  Phillip
Philip Burne-Jones (1861-1926), painter of portraits and topographical views [more].

11.  Heineman
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

12.  Durets
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

13.  Steers
Philip Wilson Steer (1860-1942), painter [more].

14.  sur les Toits
A lithograph like Gabled Roofs (C.64).

15.  A J
D. C. Thomson had originally suggested using Vitré: The Canal (C.63), then Conversation under the Statue, Luxembourg Gardens (C.69), and eventually they agreed on Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81), which was printed in an edition of about 3000 and published in The Art Journal, vol. 46, no. 120, December 1894.