UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Peacock Room
Record 7 of 79

System Number: 05528
Date: [July/September 1876][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Mary Lyulph Stanley[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler S173
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mrs Lyulph Stanley -

My Sister Mrs Haden[3] tells me that you would care to see the Peacock room[4] - I am sorry that I must give you so short a notice, but if you will forgive this, and come to 49. Princes Gate tomorrow evening, at about 6. o'clock I shall be there to meet you and will be delighted to show you my work -

The family[5] returns on tuesday which is my [p. 2] apology for this hurried intimation and during the past week they were daily expected, so that no time could be fixed -

Very faithfully yours

J A. McN. Whistler -

96. Cheyne Walk Chelsea

Sunday -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [July/September 1876]
Dated from references to the Peacock Room and Prince's Gate. In the spring of 1876, JW worked on the decorations to the hall at 49, Prince's Gate, London home of his patron Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]. By the summer, he was working on the Peacock Room, a decorative scheme for the dining room (see note below).

2.  Mary Lyulph Stanley
Mary Lyulph Stanley (m. 1873), née Lowthian Bell [more].

3.  Mrs Haden
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

4.  Peacock room
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178).

5.  family
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), shipowner, his wife Frances, and their children Frederick Dawson, Fanny, Florence and Elinor. The family members were probably returning to London from their country home, Speke Hall, near Liverpool.