UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: frames, picture
Record 17 of 27

System Number: 05155
Date: 20 June 1893
Author: Alexander Reid[1]
Place: Glasgow
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R54
Document Type: ALS


LA SOCIÉTÉ DES BEAUX-ARTS.

GLASGOW: 227 WEST GEORGE STREET
PARIS: 6 PLACE D'ANVERS.

20 June 1893.

Dear Mr Whistler.

Many thanks for your letter[2] enclosing Mr. Heinneman's[3] [sic] which I return. I am sorry to hear about the frames[4] & also that the pictures are in such a bad condition. I think of course the Insurance Company is responsible especially as I understand there has been a very heavy rate charged

There should be no hesitation on the part of the Executive to have them put right & charged to the Insurance Company.

If you will take the trouble to write to Mr Ives[5] & have this put right I think it would be admirable. The frames were all right & the surface of the pictures also when they left [p. 2] here & it was little use sending them at all if they are to be seen in a dilapidated condition.

I don't think I shall be in Paris again before September, as there is nothing to go for I mean no business (& I can't afford to go for pleasure.)

I trust - however - to have the pleasure of seeing yourself & Mrs Whistler[6] some time in September & to find you both looking as well as you were when I saw you last month.

Yours faithfully

Alex Reid.

I suppose you have seen Moore's[7] new Book? if not I shall send it you if you wish though I daresay you have seen all in it that refers to yourself.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more].

2.  your letter
JW to Thomson, [14 June 1893], #03216.

3.  Mr. Heinneman's
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more]. His letter has not been located.

4.  frames
Of paintings lent to World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893.

5.  Mr Ives
Halsey Cooley Ives (1847-1911), painter [more].

6.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

7.  Moore's
Moore, George, Modern Painting, London, 1893.