UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: family
Record 25 of 67

System Number: 05106
Date: 17 September [1891][1]
Author: Alfred S. Rathbone[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler R6
Document Type: ALS


Sept 17 '[1891][3]'

1. RUSSELL CHAMBERS.
(No. 11)
BURY ST W. C.

Dear Mr. Whistler,

Father[4] has instructed me to carry out the direful threat he uttered the other evening when we were privileged to meet yrself and Mrs Whistler[5] at my brothers[6] rooms & send you a copy of his recently printed verses[7]. Trusting you will forgive my share in the outrage

I remain
yrs apprehensively

Alfred S. Rathbone

The pieces we at home consider most characteristic are ticked in pencil in the index.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  17 September [1891]
The year was added in square brackets in an unknown hand.

2.  Alfred S. Rathbone
Alfred Steward Rathbone (1853-1901), poet [more].

3.  [1891]
Added by another hand in pencil.

4.  Father
Philip Henry Rathbone (1828-1895), collector [more]. JW wrote to him on 26 September 1891, #09387.

5.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

6.  brothers
Edgar Philip Rathbone (1856-1924), mining engineer [more].

7.  recently printed verses
Philip Henry Rathbone, Varying moods expressed in various verses, printed for private circulation, published by Unwin Bros., Chilworth and London, 1891; JW's copy is in GUL (Whistler 110).