UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: pastel, framing
Record 4 of 4

System Number: 04736
Date: [18 July 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P376
Document Type: ALS


'July 18th 98.'

TELEGRAMS,
DELICIOUS,
LONDON.

GARLANT'S HOTEL,
SUFFOLK STREET,
PALL MALL.

Can't[3] you find other Beurdeley[4] papers

I have just now run away from the red landscape[5] which I could stand no longer! Teddie[6] and I go off somewhere else tomorrow and I will let you know -

Meanwhile you ought to get off -

But my dear Major immediately I want you to take to Goupils[7] that they pack up & send [p. 2] a little pastel that is or used to be in the closet in the Hall - with broken glass or frame - Let Goupils put new glass - and send it to their house here for me -

It is the pastel belonging to Reid[8] - you must remember it or Bunnie[9] will A girl in White with blank face & pink flowers - & a large china pot - [sketch of pastel[10]]

You might write a line to Mr. Marchant[11] - Director Goupil Galleries 5. Regent Street - telling him that you [p. 3] send for a at my wish this little pastel, which I will beg he will deliver with great care to Mr. William Webb[12] -

39. New Bond Street -
City -

Give Carmen[13] the 15fs she wants - and say she can go to the campagne at present as she proposes - but she must come back when I want her -

With best wish to your Mama[14] & yourself

the General -

I send your cheque before you ask -

Write here and acknowledge - also send letters - they will be forwarded -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'JULY 18th 1898'

à
Mademoiselle Birnie-Philip
aux soins de
Monsieur McNeill Whistler
110. Rue du Bac -
Paris -
France
POSTAGE & REVENUE/ 2 1/2d
LONDON / 12.15 AM / JY18 / 98


Notes:

1.  [18 July 1898]
Dated from the postmark. The date was also written by an unknown hand on letter and envelope.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  Can't
Sentence written in left margin at right angles to the main text.

4.  Beurdeley
Paul Beurdeley (1842-after 1902), advocate at the Cour d'Appel, Paris [more].

5.  red landscape
JW had complained in a previous letter: 'the roads are all red! which with the green hills is a shocking business - and the people have spoiled their cottages by daubing them all over a sort of dull drabb red too!' (#04735).

6.  Teddie
Edward Godwin (b. 1876), son of Beatrix and E. W. Godwin; JW's step-son [more].

7.  Goupils
Goupil Gallery, art dealers in Paris and London.

8.  Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more].

9.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

10.  sketch of pastel
Almost certainly Study for 'Harmony in Grey and Peach Colour' (M.469), which is the same as The White Girl (M.471). The drawing in this letter is not in MacDonald, Margaret F., James McNeill Whistler. Drawings, Pastels and Watercolours. A Catalogue Raisonné, New Haven and London, 1995.

11.  Mr. Marchant
William Stephen Marchant (1868-1925), art dealer [more].

12.  Mr. William Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

13.  Carmen
Carmen Rossi, model, proprietess of the Académie Carmen [more].

14.  your Mama
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].