UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Scotland
Record 29 of 35

System Number: 03613
Date: [August 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Ernest George Brown[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 9/21
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

Thursday night

Dear Mr. Brown -

They are pretty - the drawings[3] - or rather what is left of them -

What a frightful state they are in! It seems to me that you might damp them and stretch them - at least -

I will sign them - as they are for a Scotchman - Tell him if he wants any others you can let him have some - in which [p. 2] case I will send you some - I will let things of mine go to Scotland - or Ireland or America -

I want no pictures or drawings in England -

In haste - with kindest regards to Mr. Huish[4]
Very sincerely Yrs

J McN Whistler

Friday morning -

I have just had your letter[5] - Now I will tell you what

Say to Mr Burrell[6], with my compliments, that I will sign these things for him. [& in?] In return I beg that he will make me out a complete little list of all that he and his brothers[7] have of mine - with description and something like dates & c. & c.

I should think he would be pleased to do this - and as told you before now, I want to get together all traces of my work wherever I may.

Also there is a lot of spurious stuff about! -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [August 1895]
Dated from the address and related correspondence, including JW to E. G. Brown, [18 September 1895], #03625 (see below).

2.  Ernest George Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  drawings
Evidently two pastels (see #03625); these may possibly have included The Purple Iris (M.397), r.: Morning Glories; v.: Nude study (M.410), or Mother and child (M.1288), which were owned by William Burrell; however, only the latter is obviously signed.

4.  Mr. Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

5.  your letter
Not located.

6.  Mr Burrell
William Burrell (1861-1958), ship-owner and collector [more]. See the letter from E. G. Brown asking JW to 'kindly send us back the two pastels', 18 September 1895, #01294, and JW's reply, where he mentions that he has not heard from Burrell (#03625).

7.  his brothers
William Burrell's elder brother was [Burr-G].