UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: subjects, portrait
Record 12 of 56

System Number: 03571
Date: 29 March [1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Sir Henry Cole[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 8/29
Document Type: ALS


Dear Sir Henry -

I shall be very much pleased and flattered to see a reproduction of the portrait[3] I am now painting of you, in the work you are about to bring out -

If therefore your publishers would wish to have it copied by the process called Photogravure I should be quite willing to let them have the copy right of the picture for your book, and would [p. 2] leave it to their consideration to pay me for the same thirty guineas or so -

Hoping that you are quite well and that you will soon write to fix another sitting
Very sincerely Yours

J. McNeill Whistler

13. Tite St. Chelsea

Wednesday March 29.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  29 March [1882]
Dated from recipient and day of week.

2.  Sir Henry Cole
Sir Henry ('King') Cole (1808-1882), civil servant and museum director [more].

3.  reproduction of the portrait
Portrait of Sir Henry Cole (YMSM 180). Cole died on 18 April, soon after JW wrote this letter. The portrait was not reproduced in the posthumously published Cole, Alan Summerly and Henrietta Lindsay Cole, eds, Fifty Years of Public Work of Sir Henry Cole ... accounted for in his deeds, speeches and writings, 2 vols, London, 1884.