UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: transport
Record 7 of 23

System Number: 03542
Date: 20 June 1889
Author: Charles James Whistler Hanson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Pickford and Co.[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/76/2-77/1
Document Type: ALd


June. 20. 89.

28. Tite Street Chelsea

Dear Sir, -

In reply to your letter of the 18th - asking for instructions, I am directed by Mr Whistler to say that when he confided his pictures[3] to your care they were in their cases, and that in those cases he expects them to come back[.] This is not only the usual course, but the only one that has ever been pursued in transporting works for Exhibition. Why therefore, Messrs Pickford & Co., who have experience, should be carrying about empty cases, Mr Whistler cannot at all understand, but he can only say, that it is not by his orders, and all he insists upon is, that the cases shall at the time of the [p. 2] closing of the Exhibition, be where the pictures can again, at once, be put into them.

Yours truly

Charles J. J. Hanson

private secretary

To the Manager,
Messrs Pickford & Co.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

2.  Pickford and Co.
Well known carriers and packers.

3.  pictures
Probably Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242) and Variations in Flesh Colour and Green: The Balcony (YMSM 56), JW's exhibits for Universal Exhibition, Paris, 1889.