The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: quarrel, (Leyland)
Record 13 of 40

System Number: 02582
Date: [7 July 1877][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Frederick Richards Leyland[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L118b
Document Type: ALcS


My dear Leyland -

I have received your letter and refrain from making any comment upon it -

The last time I saw you was at my own table, - since when I have received no official intimation from you that you[r] house was closed to me -

I called openly last Sunday, in full afternoon expecting to meet you - [p. 2] My call on the Monday was of a nature that has not been often obtruded upon you by me since your return - I wished to show my work[3] to two French Gentlemen[4] who should carry the impression of it with them to Paris -

You hint at want of respect and regard to the ladies[5] of your family - if I did not feel both very deeply I should have replied to your letter in a very differently way -

Yours faithfully

J A McN. Whistler -

Yesterday afternoon upon receiving your letter I immediately drove round to you - but you were out. -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [7 July 1877]
This is a reply to Leyland's letter of 6 July 1877 (#02581), presumably written the following day (a letter to Mrs Leyland says that he replied 'the next day'; see #02610). Also on this sheet of paper is JW's hand-written copy of #02581 (see #13633).

2.  Frederick Richards Leyland
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

3.  work
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178), which was in Leyland's house.

4.  two French Gentlemen

5.  ladies
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more]; Florence Leyland (1859-1921), later Mrs Prinsep [more]; Fanny Leyland (1857-1880), later Mrs Stevenson-Hamilton [more]; and Elinor Leyland (1861-1952), later Mrs Speed [more].