UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: gift from JW
Record 12 of 45

System Number: 02219
Date: [17 August 1887][1]
Author: William Henry Hurlbert[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H315
Document Type: ALS


Wednesday P M

TRAVELLERS' CLUB,
PALL MALL,
S. W.

Dear Mr Whistler

The First Lord[3] has fled out of town for the week - but he begs you to have the precious volume[4] left with his Secretary Mr Pattison[5] at No. 3 Grosvenor Place whom I think you already know.

[p. 2] Would it not be well for you to address a personal note to H M[6] which the F L could present with the book?

Come & see me - (not tomorrow) and let us consider of this!

Ever yours faithfully

W H H

You have made my wife[7] the proudest creature alive with her royal album!


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [17 August 1887]
Dated by the sequence of letters about the Royal Society of British Artists, and the almanac - 17 August 1887 was a Wednesday. Hurlbert had already written to JW in the morning (see #02218); his next letter to JW was probably that dated 18 August 1887 (#02217).

2.  William Henry Hurlbert
William Henry Hurlbert (1827-1895), journalist and author, editor-in-chief of the New York World from 1876-1883 [more].

3.  First Lord
First Lord of the Admiralty ('F L' below).

4.  precious volume
Probably a specially bound album containing the 'Naval Review set', 1887 (K. 316-331) (excat 7), similar to that designed by JW and presented to the Queen.

5.  Mr Pattison
Jacob Luard Pattisson (1841-1915), civil servant [more].

6.  H M
Victoria (1819-1901), Queen of Great Britain [more]. JW drafted a letter to the Queen (#05976 to #05979).

7.  my wife
Katherine P. Hurlbert (m. 1884), née Tracy, wife of W. H. Hurlbert [more].