UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: furniture, pagoda cabinet
Record 5 of 9

System Number: 00151
Date: 21 February 1879
Author: Theodore Frederick Allingham[1]
Place: London
Recipient: Sydney Morse[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A150
Document Type: ALS


'17[3]'

55 Old Broad Street
London

21 Feby 1879

Dear Sir,

Mr Howell[4] is with me -

It seems he has today been about the Cabinet[5] and the man who has it promises faithfully to let Cousins[6] have it at once (*a) - certainly Saturday or Monday. Mr Howell feels that Mr Whistler has given him a great deal of trouble in a matter in which he has not the slightest interest. (*b)

Yours truly

Theo. Allingham

Sydney Morse Esq

'(a)[7]
Is not this charming

S. M.'

'(b)[8] The interest at this time concerned Mr W A Chapman[9] - pawnbroker as will be seen further on -

J W -'


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Theodore Frederick Allingham
Theodore Frederick Allingham (b. 1845), solicitor [more].

2.  Sydney Morse
Sydney Morse (1854-1929), solicitor [more].

3.  17
Added at top of sheet in pencil, in another hand.

4.  Howell
Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

5.  cabinet
A dispute over a Chinese cabinet, described (from JW's point of view) in Whistler, James McNeill, Correspondence. Paddon Papers. The Owl and the Cabinet, London, [1882].

6.  Cousins
Possibly Joseph Bernard Cossins (b. ca 1842), painter and decorator [more].

7.  (a) ... S. M.
Added in left margin. The words 'Is not this charming' are in ink; the others in pencil. This refers back to the '(a)' inserted in the main text, which also is in pencil.

8.  (b) ... J W -
Added at bottom right in JW's hand. In pencil. This refers back to the '(b)' inserted at the end of the main text, which also is in pencil.

9.  W A Chapman
William Arthur Chapman (1849-1917), civil servant and playwright [more].