UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: family
Record 38 of 67

System Number: 13501
Date: [15 January 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 170
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


My dear Willie -

I have been away - and on my return have just received Thomson[3] who called this evening to settle the rest of his account - so I enclose at once [p. 2] the £100. as you and I have arranged -

I do hope you are not going to be kept here in this horrid weather - Why not go - and settle - as we always do by and bye! -

Did Sis[4] tell you about the "Francis Whistler[5] Gentleman" of 1609. who had part of the original grant of land in Virginia and I believe went over there?

Always affectionately
and with best wishes

Jim


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Call Number: Glasgow University Library, MS Whistler W1015
To
William McNeill Whistler. Esq.
M. D.
17. Wimpole Street
Cavendish Square
London
[stamp:] POSTAGE & REVENUE / 3D
[postmark:] No. 10 OXFORD ST. B. O. / M / JA 15 / 97
[postmarks x 3 on verso:] REGISTERED / W. D. O. / M 22 / 15 JAN 97 / C
[postmark on verso:] No. 10 OXFORD ST. B. O. / JA 15 / 97


Notes:

1.  [15 January 1897]
Dated from the postmark. The envelope belongs to Glasgow University Library, but has been included here in this transcription with the letter that originally went with it. See also #07026.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more]. He had just purchased Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63) from Dr Whistler for £400, with JW acting as intermediary (see JW to W. McN. Whistler, #07023, #07025).

4.  Sis
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

5.  Francis Whistler
Francis Whistler, possibly an ancestor of JW.