The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: house repair
Record 7 of 16

System Number: 11490
Date: 6 December 1866
Author: George Berry[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/48/61d
Document Type: ALS

[elliptical heading:] SOUTH WEST / ESTATE OFFICES

6th Decemr. 1866.


Letter to Whistler

I am in receipt of your favor herein and have referred your objection to the owner whose reply you shall have the instant I receive it, but in the meantime permit me to say that in Agreements for 3 years it is quite customary [p. 2] to insert the clause you object to

I agree with you that the schedule of proposed repairs would but encumber the Agreement, but am [returning?] back the draft approved

I will give you a letter undertaking to do the repairs agreed upon between Mr. Whistler and myself

I am
Yours respectfully

Geo Berry

J A. Rose Eqre.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Berry
George Berry (fl. 1860-1885), of George Berry and Sons, auctioneers and estate agents. This is one of several letters concerning arrangements for JW's lease with Robert Booth Latter (d. 1869), solicitor and landlord of 2 Lindsey Row, later 96 Cheyne Walk, Chelsea [more] (#11836, #11488, #11486).

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].