UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: family
Record 39 of 67

System Number: 11238
Date: [January/February 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Deborah Delano Haden[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 9/687-8
Document Type: TLc


GARLANT'S HOTEL

Well, my very dear Sis,

There is an odd something about it all - and I suppose I never quite manage to do the right thing sufficiently! - so that it lasts for ever! and I might just as well have been out of it all along.

All of which means that I received your last very nice "though more the less taking it for granted" letter just as I was off for Dieppe!

Impossible to write to you! -

Now this is what I had, however, already managed - Upon receipt of Willie's letter[3] - all about the table[4] - and nothing to suggest that he was not going immediately out of town, I took the occasion, which I suppose was what you intended, for sending him £30 - the price he asked Sir Something the Doctor - who only offered 20 - and said he should have back the table whenever he was ready to receive it - when in his turn he could give me his cheque - all of which I thought perfect - and no one could be offended! I wrote charming letters and urged his getting off if he wanted me to follow[5]

I had his answer - all very nice - and so fixed the day for his departure - so I supposed everything perfect -

On my return from Dieppe I took it for granted that he had gone.

However on Thursday evening I went to the house - and was (p. 2) told that at 6 o'clock, that very afternoon, he had gone to the Longham Hotel[6]!! on his way abroad - I was startled - but followed him to the hotel - where they assured me that effectively he had left half an hour before for the continent - I do hope it is all right - If I have failed in my duty I am terribly sorry - but everything is difficult -

Write me a line my dear Sis
Your affectionate brother

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [January/February 1897]
Dated from the subject matter of the table, as discussed in a letter from JW to D. Haden, #07027 (see below).

2.  Deborah Delano Haden
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

3.  Willie's letter
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. The letter is unidentified.

4.  table
While it appears that Dr Whistler was short of money at the time, the exact circumstances of the sale of the table are unclear. However, about 27 January 1897, JW wrote to him agreeing to help 'save the table' and of his delight that the 'Sir Hugh man' was haggling over the matter (#07027).

5.  Longham Hotel
This may be typed in error for Langham's Hotel, Portland Place, or Long's Hotel in New Bond Street. The latter hotel was used by JW.

6.  to follow
Double underlined.