UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: costume, clothes
Record 18 of 19

System Number: 10699
Date: [22 August 1899/1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Albert Ludovici[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/18/22
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Ludovici -

Yesterday, in London, I sat down and wrote a very pretty little letter to Harry Higgins[4] -

I think if you had seen it you would have been pleased - and if I could be of any influence, I fancy I have gone about it in the right way - You may be sure that [p. 2] it was very lightly done - and the Directors will feel that it is a privilege to have such dainty work upon their walls - as assuredly it is -

Still, as I told you, you must not rely too much upon it - Beside Higgins might be away - and lots of things -

Enfin we will hope for the best -

Amsterdam was very blowy and lonely - and I was afraid of catching cold on the canals - So at last I ran off - and here I am again - -

As to what comes next I have not yet troubled to plan out - but meanwhile I shall just sit and take it easy in the sun -

The air is so good - and I daresay upon the whole it would have been awfully tiresome all alone up there in the North Land! -

I looked at the Rodin[5] collection one afternoon - Sunday it was - I will tell you about it by & bye -

There was not a soul in the way of members - and I never could induce myself to make another descent upon the Club in the evening - so thats all over -

I am glad to hear that your boy is [p. 3] well again - and you must make my kindest compliments to your wife[6], and thank her for her nice message -

How goes on the class? - and have you seen more of the Moffat Lindners[7]? This must be off to the post -

Always sincerely

J McN. Whistler

I want you to ask Monsieur DuCouder[8] to let the garçon look if I did not leave a pair of black trousers -

It all comes of that Friday travelling! - I never have had any umbrella back - and now I miss this very excellent pantalon[9]!


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [22 August 1899/1900]
Dated from the references to Amsterdam and London. JW was in Holland in late August 1899 for a few days, then in London briefly, and then in Dieppe; he was also in Amsterdam in 1900. The letter is most likely to date from the earlier period.

2.  Albert Ludovici
Albert Ludovici, Jr (1852-1932), painter [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a mourning border.

4.  Harry Higgins
Possibly Henry Vincent Higgins (b. ca 1852), Chelsea resident. The letter is untraced.

5.  Rodin
René François Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), sculptor [more].

6.  wife
Marie Ludovici (b. ca 1852), wife of the painter Albert Ludovici, Jr.

7.  Moffat Lindners
Moffat Peter Lindner (1852-1949), landscape and watercolour painter [more].

8.  Monsieur DuCouder
DuCouder, unidentified.

9.  pantalon
'It all comes ... pantalon' is written at right-angles to the main text at the top of p. 1.