UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: transport
Record 6 of 23

System Number: 10503
Date: [8 November 1885?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Thomas Way[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: New York Public Library, New York
Call Number: Howard Mansfield Papers, box 105-F-4
Credit Line: Howard Mansfield Papers, Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: TLc[3]


8 November 1894. [sic]

Chelsea

My dear Mr. Way!

It is an age since we have been near each other.

Can you and will you come and dine with us here on Monday next - - -

The Chelsea Omnibus comes right by the entrance of "The Vale," which is a private road.

The place is lovely and you might be in the depth of the country although only half a dozen yards away from the traffic and noice [sic] of King's Road . . . The house stands in its own grounds and has a whole white veranda along the front. Further details when you get inside.

Dinner at 7:30, and I mean it.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [8 November 1885?]
Dated from address. It is not known precisely when JW and Maud Franklin moved to the 'Pink Palace', The Vale, Kings Road, Chelsea, but certainly they were living there by February 1885. This letter suggests that JW had only recently taken up residence there. The date on the typed transcript is '8th. Nov. 1894', but by then Whistler was living at 110, Rue du Bac, Paris. A more accurate date for this letter might be 8 November 1885, the year in which he moved into The Vale.

2.  Thomas Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

3.  TLc
Location of the original is unknown. The letter was published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, pp. 40, no. 14. An envelope is recorded as accompanying the letter, although further details are not given.