UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lecture tour, plans for US
Record 10 of 10

System Number: 01027
Date: 16 July 1897
Author: Arthur Jerome Eddy[1]
Place: Chicago
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler E15
Document Type: ALS


ARTHUR J. EDDY,
618 THE ROOKERY,
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS.

My dear Mr. Whistler;

This may be a vain effort, but once again I shall try to find you by letter and get some response - though it be only a postal.

Will you not come to this country[2] this summer? Will you permit me to [p. 2] make the arrangements, to reserve your steamer accommodations from Southhampton or Liverpool and meet you in New York? I want to give you money most rightfully due you - and, above all, I want to see you.

It seems as if fate [p. 3] is against my going to you - that was among my plans for this summer, but it is now impossible. I will guarantee you a most royal time.

Next winter, I am invited to Philadelphia to talk about you - you have a host of friends and admirers in that city and I propose to [p. 4] say what little I can to increase their admiration. Come over and you may hear the talk - could not tell you what I shall say for I speak without notes -

If you say the word I will make the arrangements for getting you here -

Sincerely yours

Arthur J Eddy

Friday July 16 - 1897


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Arthur Jerome Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more].

2.  come to this country
JW never did return to America. However for a lengthy period between 1885 and at least 1888, and again in 1896 on, he was intent on making the trip (see references including JW to W. Merritt Chase, #00593; H. Wunderlich to JW, #07153; JW to O. Maus, #09235; JW to E. J. McNay, #08100). The illness and death of his wife, and his own failing health, prevented a later trip.