The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 06577
Date: [20/30 January 1889][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2] and JW
Place: London
Recipient: George Percy Jacomb Hood[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W570
Document Type: ALS

Tower. House
Tite Street

Dear. Mr. Hood.

Jimmie is so very busy that I am writing this for him.

The etchings shall be picked out for you to choose from - but how many do you think your friend wants?

When you come to [p. 2] town I suppose you will let us know

Meanwhile Jimmie sends you these two last cuttings[4].

Yours always sincerely

Beatrix Whistler

I had already sent[5] you the first cutting, so that now you ought to have the three complete in your studio for the benefit of the curious in 'History.'

[butterfly signature]

I find another copy of the first

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [20/30 January 1889]
Dated by address and reference to press-cuttings (see below).

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. Her punctuation is unconventional.

3.  George Percy Jacomb Hood
George Percy Jacomb Hood (1857-1929), genre painter and graver [more].

4.  two last cuttings
Probably L'Indépendance Belge, 10 and 19 January and 7 February 1889, although similar reports appeared in other papers including the New York Herald, 10 January 1889. L'Indépendance Belge on 10 January 1889 published JW's letter to the Committee of the Hogarth Club, stating that William Stott of Oldham had called JW a liar and a coward, so JW slapped his face and kicked him out of the room (see #02140).

5.  I had already sent
The remainder of the text is written by JW.