The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: John, John Graver
Record 9 of 13

System Number: 01507
Date: 2 August 1894
Author: Charles Lang Freer[1]
Place: Detroit
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F439
Document Type: ALS[2]

'Aug. 2nd 1894[3].'


Dear Mr. Whistler;

I was much pleased to receive your recent letter[4], which came yesterday.

Let me thank you for the kindly remembrance and all that your letter contained. My visit to your Tite St. Studio and the kindness of yourself and Mrs. Whistler[5] gave me lasting pleasure.

In about six weeks I shall leave America for a year's vacation; taking the Mediterranean route - Venice during October, Paris probably, during November.

After which, a tinge of Hollands winter - then India, and, if war does not prevent, Japan and home via San Francisco -

[p. 2] While in Paris I hope to see you and shall surely look you up - I am delighted to know that you have been doing some new pastels and lithographs, and that you have kindly forwarded two each of the latter for my friend Mr. Hecker[6] and myself -

My collection of your work in lithography is a source of genuine delight to such of my visitors as I feel confident you would care to please - As for myself: it is hard to choose between the etchings, dry-points, lithographs pastels and "The Balcony[7]" -

Yes, I am fortunate enough to possess three of your pastels - two single figures[8] and a marvellous sketch of Venice[9] from the sea at early evening - I trust you did finally conclude to send me the pastel mentioned in your letter - If not already [p. 3] shipped, why not start it so that, it will reach me before Sept. 15th?

I hope you will do that figure[10] about which I wrote you - to, in a way, hint at spring[11] -

Let the medium suit your own taste and mood - It will of course be charming - If pastel, what would you say to making it about 8 x 12? If oil, would 16 x 20 please you and would one, so important, be within my financial reach? Some day, I must have one of your marine nocturnes also. How beautiful the one[12] brought over during the early summer for Mr. Johnson[13] of Philadelphia!

With kindest regards to yourself and Mrs. Whistler,

Very sincerely yours -

Charles L. Freer.

Detroit, Mich.

August. 2. 1894.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Charles Lang Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

2.  ALS
Published in Merrill, Linda, With Kindest Regards. The Correspondence of Charles Lang Freer and James McNeill Whistler, 1890-1903, Washington and London, 1995, no. 16, pp. 93-95.

3.  1894
Written in another hand in pencil.

4.  letter
Whistler to Freer, from Paris, 18 July 1894.

5.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

6.  Mr. Hecker
Col. Frank J. Hecker (1846-1927), partner of C. L. Freer, Michigan and Peninsular Car Company [more].

7.  The Balcony
Variations in Flesh Colour and Green: The Balcony (YMSM 56).

8.  two single figures
Harmony in Blue and Violet (M.1076) was bought from JW in March 1890, and The Blue Dress (M.468) from Wunderlich and Co. on 27 September 1892.

9.  Venice
Venice (M.802); he bought this on 16 September 1895 from Wunderlich and Co.

10.  figure
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Little Blue Girl (YMSM 421).

11.  spring
See the letter from Freer to B. Whistler on [6 May 1892], #01504. Spring (M.1397) was eventually bought by Hecker.

12.  one
Nocturne: Grey and Silver (YMSM 156).

13.  Mr. Johnson
John Graver Johnson (1841-1917), lawyer and collector [more].