UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Canfield, Richard Albert
Record 8 of 77

System Number: 09259
Date: [25/27 February 1902?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Richard Albert Canfield[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr Canfield -

I was very pleased to get your letter[3], & indeed have expected to hear of your arrival -

And now I am troubling myself with having yet to [p. 2] defer our meeting - which I look forward to with the greatest possible interest -

Your proposal to come and meet me, I conceive to be most charming & courteous - but the doctor has captured me for the moment! and has put me in the care of the ladies[4] of my family -

My first drive out shall be to call upon you -

I will send you a wire the day before - -

Very sincerely

J. McNeill Whistler

36. Tite Street
Chelsea


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [25/27 February 1902?]
Dated from the address. JW was at 36 Tite Street between February and March 1902 (see JW to Canfield, 28 February 1902, #03043).

2.  Richard Albert Canfield
Richard Albert Canfield (1855-1914), gambler [more].

3.  your letter
Untraced. The letter is likely to have been about Canfield's portrait, Portrait of Richard A. Canfield (YMSM 547), first commissioned in May 1901 but not begun until the spring of 1902 (Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Whistler Journal, Philadelphia, 1921, pp. 234-5).

4.  ladies
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], and her mother.