The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Caldwell, John (fl. 1894-1900)
Record 7 of 15

System Number: 07262
Date: 7 February 1896
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1250
Document Type: ALS


[scroll:] H. WUNDERLICH & CO.
H W & CO.
868 B'WAY N- Y-

Feb 7th 1896

Dear Mr. Whistler,

I was much shocked to hear to-day that Mrs. Whistler[2] was so ill that she had to go to England for treatment & that you are living there now. I hope that this is only idle rumour, and that the gaiety at 110[3] is undiminished.

I should be sorry indeed, if anything should happen to madam, who, notwithstanding all the fault found with me at times, is my very good friend, I am convinced.

I shall be glad to find that there is no truth in this rumour.

One of your admirers, Mr. Wrenn[4] of Chicago being desirous of seeing you, I gave him a letter to you. He has a number of your [p. 2] etchings & lithographs.

Mr. Caldwell[5] wrote to you for a book plate - a lithograph or something of the kind. He has nearly all of your etched work & lithographs, and is a capital fellow. Gratify him if you can.

I expect to hear from you in a few days, so may not send this until I have a letter from you.

Thermometer at 0 Fahrenheit. Cold as Greenland & wind forty miles an hour. It is something terrific.

All steamers from Europe are late and the ferry boats are sometimes an hour and a half crossing the river here, which is, of course, sea water with a rapid tide. It is terrible weather, as blinding snow, like flour, adds to the discomfort.

I hope you are in good health & spirits. But then you are always in good spirits, which is a wonderful gift.

I hear from Wuerpel[6] from St. Louis [p. 3][7] who seems to be busy doing portraits. Poor Sydney Starr[8] seems to have struck hard luck at last. I hope times will improve however. The "Gascoigne" who was over due ten days, has come at last, and I am not in receipt of a letter from you or any lithographs, so shall let this Scrawl go.

As ever,
Yours Sincerely,

E. G. Kennedy.

[p. 4] 'Kennedy -[9]'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She was terminally ill with cancer.

3.  110
110 Rue du Bac, JW's Paris address.

4.  Mr. Wrenn
John Henry Wrenn (1841-1911), print collector and bibliophile[more].

5.  Mr. Caldwell
John Caldwell, Board Chairman, Carnegie Art Galleries [more]. JW never designed the desired bookplate.

6.  Wuerpel
Edmund Henry Wuerpel (1866-1958), artist and teacher [more].

7.  [p. 3]
The printed address header is repeated at the top of p. 3 (as on p. 1). Written at the top of this page, in pencil in another hand, is the date: 'feb 7th '96'.

8.  Sydney Starr
Sidney Starr (1866 or 1867-1925), painter [more].

9.  Kennedy -
This is added in the hand of Beatrix Whistler.