The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: LaFarge, John
Record 5 of 8

System Number: 03157
Date: [2 February 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Arthur Haythorne Studd[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/209/1
Document Type: MsLc

My dear Peter -

I am awfully sorry to have been unable to get down to you this evening as I had hoped to do -

Cant you come to me here tomorrow afternoon at about 3.30 to 4.30? -

I dont feel that I have properly said Goodbye to you - or wished you well and every luck on your journey! -

Of course it ought to be a delightful one if you will only think so! - and I really would like to come out to you -

Lafa[r]ge[3], who you remember was in Paris, said those Islands[4] are simply charming beyond belief! - So thats all right!

Now do come tomorrow if you can Peter -

Affectionately yours -

J. McN. Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [2 February 1897]
Dated from the postmark. 'Feb. 2. 1897. Postmarked date' is written in the left margin of this letter copy. The letter was copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

2.  Arthur Haythorne Studd
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more]. He had been known as 'Peter' since his art student days.

3.  Lafa[r]ge
Probably John LaFarge or La Farge (1835-1910), painter and multi-media artist [more]. La Farge was author of Reminiscences of the South Seas, New York, 1912.

4.  Islands
Studd was about to go to work in Tahiti.