The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Hiffernan, Joanna
Record 46 of 50

System Number: 13876
Date: [August 1888?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Private Collection
Document Type: ALS


LE …. 188 ...

My dear Charlie

Send here tomorrow all letters in one of the big envelopes - I have no time at present to write more -

Make out a cheque for five pounds and give it to Madame[3] £.5 - saying that I will write -

But this must be off instantly

Tell me all you can think

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [August 1888?]
This probably dates from JW's honeymoon in France, in the late summer of 1888. No other letter was sent, as far as is know, from this address. The letter is stuck into a copy of a book of a slightly later date: Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, London and New York, 1890.

2.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

3.  Madame
Hanson certainly knew both JW's earlier partners. This probably refers to Mary Maud Franklin (1857- ca 1941), JW's model and mistress [more]. An earlier letter to Hanson, dating from late August 1887, refers to 'Madame', and another mentions her sister, Mrs Crossley, [16 August 1888], #08020. Alternatively, 'Madame' could be Joanna Hiffernan (b. ca 1843), JW's model and mistress [more], although there are no clearly identifiable references to her after 1880.