The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Denny, Caroline
Record 4 of 5

System Number: 09368
Date: [May/July 1855][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Baltimore]
Recipient: Elias Glenn Perine[2]
Place: [Baltimore]
Repository: Maryland Historical Society Library, Baltimore, MD
Call Number: Manuscripts Department, David Maulden Perine Papers, 1783-1941, MS 645
Document Type: ALS

My dearest and best of Glenns -

Im sorry - demed [sic] sorry - but "I'm afraid I caant[3] [sic]"[.] Ross[4] and [I] rushed off the orther [sic] morning suddenly and sureptiously [sic] to Washington on a species of go - not necessarily rum go - and have only just returned - the family are tolerably excited, and a [Perrine?] run after the Capital go would, I think, cause the cup of endurance to run over and tricle [sic] down with indignation - Besides mon cher if thing is risked at all it will have to be [p. 2] in company with Ross who last night made an engagement to drive down to the races; and of course I couldn't drop him, and his buggy sans ceremonie[5] [sic], so perhaps I'll see you there, but really I don't believe it possible to get down at all . -

I'll be in your office tomorrow afternoon. - .


Going to the Cousins[6] soon?

'James Whistler.'[7]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [May/July 1855]
Probably written while JW was in Baltimore visiting Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more] (see T. Winan's invitation dated 24 April 1855, #07077). It may date from after another undated letter, #09367.

2.  Glenn Perine
Elias Glenn Perine (1829-1922), stockbroker [more].

3.  I'm afraid I caant
Unidentified quotation.

4.  Ross
Ross, an early friend of JW.

5.  sans ceremonie
Fr., without ceremony

6.  Cousins
Possibly St Clair Denny (1800-1858), army paymaster in Washington, DC [more], his wife Caroline Denny (1814 or 1815-1848), née Hamilton, wife of St Clair Denny [more], and family.

7.  'James Whistler.'
Added in another hand.