The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Ionides, Alexander Constantine
Record 3 of 22

System Number: 07083
Date: [April 1863/1867?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Thomas Winans[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1072
Document Type: ALS


7. Lindsey Row
Old Battersea bridge

Dear Tom

I am very much grieved[.] Your letter owing to a false direction only reached me yesterday -

You put Cheyne Walk as the address! - I shall call this morning on our cousins[4] and make excuses for my aparent [sic] queer conduct - Can't you give a peep in tomorrow [p. 2] afternoon - I shall go to the Greeks[5] at about 3. - If I haven't reached London Street my dear Tom it is only because as you know I have been madly at work until the last moment -

Ever Yours

Jim Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [April 1863/1867?]
April 1863 is the earliest date at which JW could have written from 7 Lindsey Row. The letter may well date from later in his period there, up until 1867.

2.  Thomas Winans
Thomas De Kay Winans (1820-1878), locomotive engineer and collector [more].

3.  'Whistler'
Written at the top, in pencil, in another hand.

4.  cousins
Not identified; perhaps the Rodewalds, family of Mary Isabella Rodewald (1823-1867), née McNeill, JW's cousin, wife of J. F. Rodewald [more].

5.  Greeks
Presumably Alexander Constantine Ionides (1810-1890), shipping merchant and collector [more] and Euterpe Ionides (1816-1892), née Sgouta, wife of A. C. Ionides [more].

6.  'Artist's autograph'
Written in pencil in another hand.