The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Haden, Deborah Delano
Record 258 of 259

System Number: 03311
Date: [10 August 1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: [The Hague]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, DC
Call Number: FGA Whistler 260
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

My dear Nellie -

It is quite true that I have been ill - and I have been greatly troubled for fear that my Sister[4] should be startled by some abominable paragraph in a rascally paper[5]!

However now it is all over the place -

And doubtless you have seen my leader in the Morning Post of the other day -

In any case I enclose it, together with a letter they wrote upon it, so that [p. 2] you can take them down and read them to Sis - with my best love - I am sure she will like the letter, which I think one of my very best!

and be pleased at what the paper has said about it - differing so greatly from the sort of thing we have always had!

But nous avons changé tout cela[6] -

I am afraid that I shall not be leaving here quite yet - However Holland is always charming -

But what weather! and every where they say! -

You must write me back a long letter from Sis -

Always affectly

J McNeill Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs. William Whistler
10. Holland Park Avenue -
Notting Hill Gate
England -
[stamp:] NEDERLAND
[postmark:] [La Haye] / 10-12H / 10 / AUG / 02
[postmark on verso:] NOTTINGHILL / W. / 7.30 AM / AU12 / 02

[address on envelope flap:] HOTEL DES INDES


1.  [10 August 1902]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW had suffered recurrent bouts of ill-health and fell seriously ill whilst on a trip to Holland with Charles Lang Freer in the summer of 1902. He did not return to London until September.

3.  ALS
Written on narrow bordered mourning paper.

4.  Sister
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

5.  rascally paper
JW wrote to the Morning Post on 3 August to contradict a report that had appeared in its 'Art and Artists' column a few days previously. See Whistler, James McNeill, 'Latest Bulletin From Mr. Whistler,' The Morning Post, 6 August 1902 (#09458). The report together with JW's response on 7 August (#09329) was published by the Pall Mall Gazette under the heading 'The Gentle Art of Letter-Writing' and versions were published in various other papers.

6.  nous avons changé tout cela
Fr., we have changed all that!