The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: LaFarge, John
Record 2 of 8

System Number: 11661
Date: [16 June 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 264
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: TLc

110 Rue du Bac - Paris.

My dear Willie -

The three etchings[3] as I told Nellie[4] brought very little - that is to say not so very little - they went for about their price at the Fine Arts Society - you see they were of the Venice Series [5]- two of them - and the Putney Bridge - The condition of some of them good - much harmed in the mounting - Putney horribly glued down - and the corners torn off the others &[6] pasted on again - However I dont think it is therefor so bad - and I enclose cheque for £17 - 17 - which Mr Kennedy[7] said they came to. He told me he would send details when he gets back to New York - but there is no comfort in that ! -

Write us a line - Did you have a visit from John La Farge[8]? He has gone back to New York but he took down your address - most seriously & I only hope he found you - for he is likely to come back next spring again or earlier and would be evidently a good patient -

How did the lecture go off? All right? -

I am of course worried to death after our manner! I must tell you all about the Du Maurier[9] business but can't now - as must rush to studio - But why not ask Webb[10] to dinner, he will tell you details - you know I am wiping him up! -

Aleco[11] could tell you - Only I never know whether he is not thinking of something else! -

In awful hurry.
Love from both
yours affectionate

J. McNeill Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


Call Number: Glasgow University Library, MS Whistler LB 5/111
William McNeill Whistler Esq. M.D.
17. Wimpole Street
Cavendish Sq.
[postmark:] [June 16th 1894]


1.  16 June 1894
Dated from the postmark as recorded by the copyist.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.   three etchings
Including Old Putney Bridge (K.178).

4.  I told Nellie
JW wrote to Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more], on [14 June 1894] (#11655).

5.  Venice Series
Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195).

6.  down - and the corners torn off the others &
This phrase is taken from a copy of the same letter by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more] (#03288).

7.  Mr Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

8.  John La Farge
John LaFarge or La Farge (1835-1910), painter and multi-media artist [more].

9.  Du Maurier
George Louis Palmella Busson Du Maurier (1834-1896), author and caricaturist [more].

10.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

11.  Aleco
Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more].