The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Dieterlen, G.
Record 19 of 47

System Number: 07248
Date: 8 March 1895
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1236
Document Type: ALS[2]


[scroll:] H. WUNDERLICH & CO.
H W & CO.
868 B'WAY N- Y-

Mch. 8th 1895.

My dear Mr. Whistler,

I am in receipt of yours of about two weeks ago and am glad to hear from you, particularly as "the lady"[4] is convalescent and going back to the city on the Seine, where there is more Sunshine and "gaiéty" that than in dirty and foggy London. However, I suppose these things are matters of taste. As for us here, so many English actors are coming or have come here, that the weather has changed to the foggy article from the clear and bracing, though, of course, we cannot hope to rival the atmospheric pea soup of London. I am very glad to know that Mrs. Whistler is on the road to good health again and hope that no relapse will occur. You have already received a letter from me à propos of this. Wuerpel[5] writes from St. Louis where he is painting portraits and lecturing on Whistler. I note what you say about the lithographs and have [p. 2] made the corrections.

You are mistaken however about the reclining figure[6] - in colours, for there are several in Paris. The last one I got for 3/2/- and 6/6/- seems rather high. I really think 4/4/- is all I can get for it. It is for the stock & not for an order. I hate to split hairs on these trifles but cannot help it.

Yes, I should like to have the lithographs you mention before you destroy the stone. People growl here because they pay high prices for Whistler's lithographs and then find that the stone is given or sold to some magazine. Of course I get it all! That is, all the grumbling & fault finding on that account. I don't think that little Thompson[7] [sic] should have been allowed to issue a cheap edition of the set of lithographs. It is a mistake, as the impressions are poor.

I am much beholden to Mrs. Whistler for her kind messages, which I appreciate. Make my compliments to her & express my feelings as you [p. 3] alone can do, regarding her illness. When I saw the letter headed "Longs Hotel", I said, "my, what a howling swell", for I looked for rooms there once, but I thought no one less than one of your beloved Grand Dukes or crowned heads could stop there. I take off my hat & salute you!

I will send a cheque when I receive the other lithos. promised, as there is no use in making a lot of petty payments.

I am very much pleased at receiving your friendly letter, which I appreciate, you may be sure. May you write many such!

Business quiet, but now that Congress has adjourned, we hope for better times, for we need them.

[p. 4] Trusting to see you in May, and that Mrs. Whistler's health will steadily improve, believe me,

Yours Sincerely

E. G. Kennedy.

Isn't that Chicago Justice[8] a great man?

Can it be true

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

2.  ALS
Printed address header is repeated at top of p. 3, as on p. 1. At the top of p. 3, written in another hand in pencil, is the following: 'II     Mar 8th 1895.'

G. Dieterlen, employee at H. Wunderlich and Co., New York.

4.  the lady
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. She was ill with cancer, which was briefly in remission.

5.  Wuerpel
Edmund Henry Wuerpel (1866-1958), artist and teacher [more]. See his letter to JW, 26 February 1895, #07145.

6.  reclining figure
Draped Figure, Reclining (C.56).

7.  little Thompson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

8.  that Chicago Justice
Possibly referring to John Henry Wrenn (1841-1911), print collector and bibliophile[more], introduced to JW by Kennedy, 2 February 1895, #07247.