The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Canfield, Richard Albert
Record 12 of 77

System Number: 03045
Date: [7 March 1902][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Richard Albert Canfield[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/134
Document Type: MsLc[3]

Dear Mr Canfield -

It was a lucky thing that we fixed upon that afternoon!

What do you think of this? Of course I have not moved out of the house[4]! -

Now if tomorrow we have still this black horror [5]upon us, I hope you will try Saturday - otherwise I shall look for you at the Studio, and perhaps we had better say a little earlier - that we may run less risks for the return!

We might say two o'clock - or half past if you like - on either day -

very sincerely

J. McNeill Whistler.

36. Tite Street. Chelsea -

Thursday evening.

This document is protected by copyright.


Richard Canfield, Esq.
Claridges Hotel.
[postmark:] March 7. 02.


1.  [7 March 1902]
Date from the postmark as recorded by the copyist.

2.  Richard Albert Canfield
Richard Albert Canfield (1855-1914), gambler [more], who was posing for the Portrait of Richard A. Canfield (YMSM 547).

3.  MsLc
Copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

4.  house
At this point JW was staying with Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more]. He was about to move into a house at 74 Cheyne Walk, Chelsea.

5.  black horror
The fog cleared on 8 March and the Oxford and Cambridge boat crews had a perfect day for their workout (Times, London, 8 March 1902, p. 13.