The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Gutekunst, Otto
Record 11 of 13

System Number: 07314
Date: 31 July 1899
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Dieppe]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1302
Document Type: ALS

31st July 1899


My dear friend

Stepping in here on a little business, I thought it best to be sure & catch the post this evening, so just drop a line to say that I got your letter[2]. I am sorry to hear that prospects of painting are so poor at Dieppe. If you come here, I shall wait for you a day or two. Let me know when you may Come, so that I can trim my sails accordingly.

I have never been in Hamburg but understand that it is much modernized, but then you know, "half the lies aren't true".

Hildesheim & Brunswick are beautiful, and indeed parts [p. 2] of Hanover are most quaint. Two Whistler's I sent to Gutekunst[3] of King St. for him to look at as fine impressions, but not those you gave to Miss Hentzman[4]. No indeed, for I have to make a list of all of them yet &c. &c., so they are intact.

I am sorry to hear that you have not been well, but the hot weather will pull you all right again. I wish that I had time, I would go to Holland, but I must go home.

Let me hear from you, and believe me, as ever, Sincerely


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. JW called him O'K.

2.  your letter
See #09793.

3.  Gutekunst
Otto Gutekunst (b. ca 1865 - after 1939), art dealer [more].

4.  Miss Hentzman
Probably Miss Hensman, an employee of Garlant's hotel; the name is variously spelt by JW and others.