The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Ellis, Frederick Standridge
Record 1 of 5

System Number: 13328
Date: [October 1870/March 1871?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Frederick Strandridge Ellis[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/31
Document Type: ALS[3]

2 Lindsey Houses -

Monday night

Dear Ellis -

Many thanks and all right about the £5 -

I did not really mean that you were to be charged £10. for the paper[4] - that was perhaps the wild climax reached quite naturally it would appear in writing that kind of letter! - If you think a fiver too much for the paper though you shall have more of it - or if you feel that I ought to throw it in - well I have no doubt you would be right - You know I don't now remember at all what it cost - but it did cost money, not only in [p. 2] cash, but in time, trouble, and travel - for I got it myself in Holland[5] - passing days hunting over old book shops in Amsterdam, and writing and intriguing for it - I believe it to be very valuable - and more so now - for I doubt if it could be got in any quantity at all - and certainly not without great care and judgement and expense to say nothing of time -

Ever Yours

J A McN Whistler

If the copy for [TT?] comes tomorrow I think it may be shoved through at once -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [October 1870/March 1871?]
Dated from the period between the winter of 1870 and spring 1871 when Ellis was publishing A Series of Sixteen Etchings of Scenes on the Thames, 1871 (the 'Thames Set') (K.38-44, 46, 52, 66, 68, 71, 74-76, 95) (excat 4).

2.  Frederick S. Ellis
Frederick Standridge Ellis (1830-1901), author, publisher and book-seller [more].

3.  ALS
Published in unidentified sale catalogue, May 1933, lot 186. The original has not been located.

4.  paper
JW preferred old laid paper, which had a good colour and texture but no chemical additives, for printing.

5.  Holland
When JW visited Amsterdam in 1863 he collected old Dutch paper and was sent some by his Dutch friends thereafter (see Heijbroek, J. F. and Margaret F. MacDonald, Whistler and Holland, Zwolle and Amsterdam, 1997, p. 52).