UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Henley, William Ernest
Record 1 of 50

System Number: 09864
Date: [7/14 November 1888?][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: London
Recipient: William Ernest Henley[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: The Pierpont Morgan Library, New York
Call Number: MA 1617
Document Type: ALS


21, CHEYNE WALK,
CHELSEA.

Dear Mr Henley -

We have been out of town ever since we saw you, and only got the pretty lady's portrait[4] on our return last Saturday - Thank you so much for it, Jimmie is quite in love with her, and says you must bring her with [p. 2] you the next time you come, that he may imortalize [sic] her wonderful curls -

Please give our love to her, and tell her we are looking forward to making her acquaintance:

I am glad the Coffee pot is a success -

With our kindest regards to you and Mrs Henley[5]
Believe me
Very sincerely

Beatrix Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [7/14 November 1888?]
Dated by address and reference to travel. This probably dates from shortly after the Whistler's honeymoon. They were back in London by early November 1888.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  William Ernest Henley
William Ernest Henley (1849-1903), journalist, poet and writer [more].

4.  the pretty lady's portrait
Margaret Emma Henley (1888-1894) was born on 4 September 1888, and died on 11 February 1894. An early photograph does not actually show much of the curls, so this letter could well date from some months later (see John Connell, W. E. Henley, London 1949, pp. 133, 274-5, repr. frontispiece and f. p. 220).

5.  Mrs Henley
Anna or Hannah ('Nancy') Johnson Henley (b. ca 1849), née Boyle, wife of W. E. Henley [more].