UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Blanche, Jacques Émile
Record 4 of 18

System Number: 09648
Date: [October/November 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Théodore Duret[2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 9/565
Document Type: TLc


'1884'[3]

Hurrah! - mais il faut venir nous trouver ici dans l'ancien atelier[4] - où je suis en train de finir quelques milles connaissances -

Venez Samedi dans l'après midi vers les trois heures - et puis nous dinerons ensemble -

Mon cher, ça va être "amazing"!!

[butterfly signature]

Ecrivez donc pour moi à Blanche[5] un petit mot -


This document is protected by copyright.


Translation:

Hurrah! - but you must come and find us here in the old studio - where I am in the process of finishing some thousands of [experiences?] - .

Come on Saturday afternoon, about 3 o'clock - and then we shall dine together -

My dear, that will be 'amazing'!

Write a little note for me now to Blanche


Notes:

1.  [October/November 1884]
Dated '1884' by the recipient, confirmed by the address (see below).

2.  Théodore Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

3.  '1884'
Written in Duret's hand.

4.  ancien atelier
JW was presumably still at 13 Tite Street; he leased 454A Fulham Road in October and moved in December 1884.

5.  Blanche
Jacques Émile Blanche (1861-1942), portrait painter, art critic and writer [more].