The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Nathanson, Thadée
Record 3 of 3

System Number: 08502
Date: [21/22 November 1898][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: William Heinemann[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS


I can't make out whether these letters posted from the Hotel Chatham by the late box Gare du Nord, really reach you the next morning? -

It seems to me that you could not have received my letter of Sunday evening[3] when you wrote your own that I had this morning - ? -

I think the draft of what you wish as a reason for the publication in Paris[4], perfect. -

First however it will be well that all preliminaries be completely settled here - Let us be sure of our publisher before we announce that we have kicked [p. 2] the dust[5] of London from our feet!

I have tried to see Uzanne[6] once or twice, and asked him to dinner - at rather short notice, it is true - He has written me a most charming note and proposes next week - That's all right -

Meanwhile tomorrow I dine with Viélé-Griffin[7] - to meet the others I told you about - which makes me [fel?] feel that my letter had not reached you when you wrote -

Griffin's remarks would show that really he is very much up in the practical matters of publication - Uzanne though shall be met and talked to all the same - But we all require you - So mind Saturday you dine with me -

Nathanson[8] and the others you will "fix up" at once -

Send me a line to say Yes for Saturday - and will have a nice little dinner for Saturday - or Sunday - - A wire tomorrow would be better - Say dine Sunday - (or Monday - or - fix the day) So that I may arrange with the others -

Very pretty letter from Lady Betty[9] - show you -

Do hope the latest books will arrive tomorrow morning! -

Do you think McClure[10] is afraid? - [p. 3] or prejudiced?

I have not had a word from him -

This scribble, from the Café Napolitain! -


[butterfly signature]

'Mrs Frederic
The Old House
Brook Green?

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [21/22 November 1898]
Dated from the reference to JW's letter to W. Heinemann, [20 November 1898], #08501. The date '[1898]' has been inserted by another hand at top of sheet on p. 1.

2.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

3.  letter of Sunday evening
Probably #08501.

4.  publication in Paris
Whistler, James McNeill, Eden versus Whistler: The Baronet and the Butterfly. A Valentine with a Verdict, Paris and New York, 1899 [GM, A.24]. It was originally intended for publication in London.

5.  kicked the dust
Matt. 10.14: 'If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town'.

6.  Uzanne
Louis Octave Uzanne (1852-1931), writer [more].

7.  Viélé-Griffin
Francis Vielé-Griffin (1863/1864-1937), poet [more].

8.  Nathanson
Thadée Nathanson, co-proprietor of the Revue Blanche.

9.  Lady Betty
Elisabeth Lewis (1844-1931), née Eberstadt, wife of G. H. Lewis [more]. Her letter is untraced.

10.  McClure
Perhaps Samuel Sidney McClure (1857-1949), journalist and publisher [more].

11.  Hammersmith
'Mrs Frederic ... Hammersmith' is written in another hand upside down to the main text. It is unclear whether this address has any connection with this letter.