UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Holloway, Charles Edward
Record 2 of 3

System Number: 07837
Date: [6 May/June 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Joseph Pennell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 272/9/2
Document Type: ALS


GARLANT'S HOTEL,
SUFFOLK STREET,
PALL MALL.
TELEGRAMS, / DELICIOUS, LONDON.

My dear Pennell -

If this catches you as you both[3] come in - and Bowen[4] said you would be back by ten - and you will come right on here, I will give you some tea -

I want much to see you about tomorrow - for I must go I suppose to Holloways funeral[5] - which is at Finchley!!

I think you might [p. 2] come to the studio and breakfast with me & Ludovici[6] at at [sic] 12.15, - and we might go together in a brougham.

Letter from Poole[7] -

[p. 3] Shall be here in Coffee room where we dined last night until nearly 11 - and considering that you asked me to dinner tonight and then all ran away I fancy I am gentle indeed!

[butterfly signature]

[p. 4] There is a fatality about these contretemps

[p. 5] I am shocked to l[earn]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Mr Joseph Pennell
14, Buckingham Street
Strand


Notes:

1.  [6 May/June 1897]
Dated by the reference to the funeral of C. E. Holloway, who died on 5 May 1897. JW was in Paris within the week and did not return as far as is known until late June.

2.  Joseph Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

3.  you both
Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographer [more].

4.  Bowen
Bowen, possibly the Pennells' servant.

5.  Holloways funeral
Charles Edward Holloway (1838-1897), watercolour painter [more]. According to the Pennells, JW came to the impoverished Holloway's rescue when he was ill, organising medical care, food, and looking after his family (see Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, vol. 2, pp. 187-88).

6.  Ludovici
Albert Ludovici, Jr (1852-1932), painter [more].

7.  Poole
Possibly Edward John Poole (b. ca 1848), civil servant and art collector [more]. The letter has not been located.