UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Constant, T. C. J.
Record 9 of 32

System Number: 07834
Date: [25 September 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Joseph Pennell[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 272/8/7
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Joseph -

I am trying to get back! - The journey has brought forth absolutely no painting! Rain storm and glare!

Now I bring over with me Constant[4] - you remember my man - Well I wish you could think of some place I could take [p. 2] Either simply a room near you for him - or perhaps even a bed room & sitting room for me, with a servants bed room for Constant -

Could this sort of thing by any chance be known to either Mrs Pennell[5] or yourself? -

I have never heard further from the Editor man Abrams[6] - so you had better tell [Mallone[7]?] that I understand from this that the matter is off - and I shall feel justified making other arrangements with that drawing of "St Annes[8]" - The other people you know are after me about lithographs for their paper[9] -

with kindest regards to your wife & yourself
Always

J. McNeill Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Joseph Pennell. Esq
14. Buckingham Street
Strand -
London
Angleterre
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE
[postmark:] PARIS [...] / R[UE]. DU BAC / 5E 25 / SEPT / 96
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W. C. / S. M. P. / B A / SP 26 / 96


Notes:

1.  [25 September 1896]
Dated from the postmark. The date '[1896, Sep. 1]' is written on the letter in another hand.

2.  Joseph Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more].

5.  Mrs Pennell
Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographer [more].

6.  Abrams
Abrams, an editor, known to J. Pennell.

7.  Mallone
The word could be read as 'Mallone' or 'Mallam'. It is unlikely to be JW's close friend, Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more].

8.  St Annes
St Anne's, Soho (C.162). Pennell may have been looking for a lithograph to illustrate an article by E. R. Pennell: Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, 'The Master of the Lithograph - James McNeill Whistler,' Scribner's Magazine, vol. 21, no. 3, March 1897, pp. 277-289.

9.  paper
)n 2 September 1896 C. H. Shannon had asked JW for a lithograph for The Pageant, #05411.