The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Payne, Georgiana Horne
Record 3 of 3

System Number: 07714
Date: [3 April 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Georgiana Horne Payne[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 273/7/2
Document Type: ALdS

'[1880, Apr. 12][3]'

Dear Mrs. Horne Payne -

I enclose the letter[4] that has brought about this mischief -

Though I thought that by this time I was tolerably familiar with the customs of the country in which it is my privilege to live, I had yet to learn it seems, that any one in the disguise of a gentleman, could permit himself on a special day[5] of the year to take an unwarrantable liberty with the name of a lady for the purpose [p. 2] of perpetuating a dreary national joke -

With us the Calendar offers no such license - and I am afraid we should confound the amusing man with a blackguard -

I need not say how pained I am that I should have been, however unconsciously, a means of annoyance to you -

Very sincerely Yours

J A McN. Whistler

96. Cheyne Walk -

[p. 3] 'Mr Whistler / April 3d'[6]

'Copy & letter / April 12 1880'[7]

This document is protected by copyright.


'Original Letter[8] to Mrs. Horne-Payne. / Bought from Bumpus / Date given on back of letter / April 12th, 1880'

Mrs Pennell
3 Adelphi Terrace House.
Robert Street.
W. C.
[postmark:] LONDON. W / 94 / 6 PM / SP 20 / 10


1.  [3 April 1878]
This is a reply to Mrs Payne's letter, which is also undated (#04542). The references to April Fools' Day (1 April) and the address (96 Cheyne Walk) indicate a date of on or just after Wednesday 3 April 1878. A draft of this letter is undated (#04543).

2.  [1880, Apr. 12]
This date has been added in another hand. It must be incorrect since on that date JW was in Venice.

3.  Mrs G. Horne Payne
Georgiana Horne Payne (b. 1837 or 1838), widow of G. S. Atwood, later wife of J. H. Payne [more]. She was returning some etchings that she had not ordered (#04542).

4.  letter
Not located.

5.  special day
1 April is April Fool's Day.

6.  Mr Whistler / April 3d
Added in another hand, in ink.

7.  'Copy & letter / April 12 1880'
Added in another hand, in pencil.

8.  Original Letter
The envelope, postmarked 20 September 1910, was evidently that which was used to send the letter to Mrs Pennell after she had arranged to buy it.