UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Handcock, H. W.
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 07014
Date: 20-21 October [1894][1]
Author: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: London
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[3]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1003
Document Type: ALS


17, WIMPOLE STREET,
CAVENDISH SQUARE. W.

October 20th

Dear Charlie

I send you a note of introduction to Mr. Ionides[4] from my wife[5]. We have been talking the matter over since you left, & think it will make it easier for you if you would enclose this in a note from [p. 2] yourself to Mr. Ionides tomorrow asking for an appointment. On second thoughts though, so as not to lose time, you had better say that you will call on him at a certain hour on Monday.

In haste
yours sincerely

W. McN. Whistler

[p. 3] P. S.

Sunday night 21st

Since writing yesterday Mrs Manuel[6] called here again this afternoon to say that if you would call tomorrow afternoon (Monday) at 3 o'clock on Mr H. W. Handcock[7], at Westminster Chambers, 5 Victoria St., she had heard of an opening there. Mr. Hancock [p. 4] will expect you then -

Say that you come on Mrs. Manuel's introduction. She thinks it will be better for you to see what you can do through Mr. Handcock first - If you should not succeed with him in obtaining an appointment there it will still be open to you to see Mr. Ionides another day. Mrs. Manuel has taken much interest, so I hope you will take her advice -

Yours truly

W. M. W.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Immediate
Please forward at once

C. J. J. Hanson Esq.
c/o Mrs. Singleton.
12 Great Ormond St.
W. C.
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND INLAND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] LONDON W. / B 7 / OC [21] / 94
[postmark on verso:] [LONDON] W. / OC 22 / 94


Notes:

1.  20-21 October [1894]
Year taken from postmark.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

4.  Mr. Ionides
Probably Alexander ('Aleco') Ionides (1840-1898), businessman [more].

5.  wife
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  Mrs Manuel
Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more], sister of Helen Whistler.

7.  Mr H. W. Handcock
There are several firms of civil engineers at No. 5, Victoria Street. Since Hanson became an engineer, Handcock is likely to have been connected to one of them.