The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Godwin, Edward
Record 6 of 49

System Number: 06578
Date: [29 August 1889][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Amsterdam
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[3]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W571
Document Type: ALS

Doelen Hotel

Dear Mr Hanson

The Master has had a letter forwarded from Mr Upton[4] - Sir H Meux[5] lawyer - saying he was going to call in Tite Street last Monday unless he heard from to the contrary -

The master says you [p. 2] are to call on him, and explain the reason of his silence and apologize for the inconvenience he has been put to - in going to Tite St[6] and tell him directly he returns to town he will let Mr Upton know - and make a fresh appointement [sic].

Then, you are to take the enclosed cheque to the bank - and [p. 3] you might call in at the Dowdeswells[7] and find out from W. D[8] - what the cheque is for - for Mr Whistler expected £40[9] odd pounds instead of £21[10] - * '* Is the cheque[11] for the first etchings sent to Walter[12], or is it for the last etchings you left the other day with Charles[13]? - Ask for list and send it to me -[14]'

Send us the Pall Mall Budget[15] when it comes out for this week and last - we hav'nt [sic] had any news since we left England -

We have had shocking [p. 4] weather until today - Now - it is very warm and lots of mosquitoes!!

Give my love to Miss Ethel[16] and Teddy[17] - tell him to write to me -

Has any thing been seen of the Fords[18]? if you come acrosss [sic] them dont breath a word about any thing.

Yours very sincerely

Beatrix Whistler

'If my spectacles[19] have not come, you are to go tomorrow morning[20] to Great Portland Street, the optician's address you can get from Dr Couper[21] No. 80. Grosvenor Street, and then say to Mr Paxton[22] (at the opticians) to send them on here at once.'

This document is protected by copyright.


Charles J. Hanson Esq
25 Margaretta Terrace
S W.
London -
[stamp:] NEDERLAND / 12½ CENT
[postmark:] AMSTERDAM / 7-8N / 29 / AUG / 89

[on verso:] 'answered Aug. 31. 89 / C. J. H.[23]'


1.  [29 August 1889]
Dated from postmark. It is not entirely certain that the letter came with this envelope but it fits the envelope and the address is appropriate.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

4.  Mr Upton
Edward Upton (b. ca 1855), partner in Upton and Britton, Solicitors [more]. His letter referred to has not been located; the previous extant letter is at #05900. JW asked about Upton again in #01981.

5.  Sir H Meux
Sir Henry Bruce Meux (1857-1900), 3rd Baronet, brewer and patron [more]. He was trying to retrieve an incomplete painting, Portrait of Lady Meux in Furs (YMSM 230).

6.  Tite St
JW's appartment in the Tower House, Tite Street, Chelsea.

7.  Dowdeswells
C. W. or one of his sons, Charles and Walter Dowdeswell, of Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealers.

8.  W. D.
Walter Dowdeswell (1858-1929), art dealer [more].

9.  £40
£40. 6. 5. See Dowdeswells account, 3 August 1889 (#13092) and JW's letter to Dowdeswell about the cheque, 15 August 1889 (#08630).

10.  £21
See #08618.

11.  * Is the cheque...with Charles? -
Added in JW's hand across the foot of pp. 2-3, linked by a line to the text above.

12.  Walter
Walter Dowdeswell (1858-1929), art dealer [more].

13.  Charles
Charles Dowdeswell (m. 1897), art dealer, son of C. W. Dowdeswell [more].

14.  Ask for list and send it to me -
Added in JW's hand.

15.  Pall Mall Budget
Pall Mall Budget, newspaper.

16.  Miss Ethel
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

17.  Teddy
Edward Godwin (b. 1876), son of Beatrix and E. W. Godwin; JW's step-son [more].

18.  Fords
Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more]; and Mary Bacon Ford, née Martin, art agent [more].

19.  If my spectacles...
This sentence was added in JW's hand across the bottom of pp. 4 and 1.

20.  morning
Double underlined.

21.  Dr Couper
Dr John Couper (b. ca 1836), surgeon [more].

22.  Mr Paxton
Paxton, JW's optician.

23.  answered Aug. 31. 89 / C. J. H.
Written by Hanson.