The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Vanderbilt, Edith Stuyvesant
Record 19 of 24

System Number: 05927
Date: 10 April 1902
Author: George Washington Vanderbilt[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler V16
Document Type: ALS

[crowned crest] CLARIDGE'S

'April 10th 02.[2]'


Cher Maître

you cannot I am sure realize how much pleasure the thought of owning the portrait of "l'Enfant du Gin"[3] gives me and how seeing it on the wall of the Paris apartment [p. 2] will fill the whole place with associations of yourself.

May we hope to see it there very soon as Mrs V.[4] is just as keen about it as I am. Will you kindly indicate to me the amount for which I must draw the cheque.

[p. 3] We are hoping to see you tonight at dinner

Henry James[5] and Jonathan[6] are coming.

Yours devotedly

George Vanderbilt

April 10th 1902

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

2.  April 10th 02.
Date inserted by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  'l'Enfant du Gin'
The Little London Sparrow (YMSM 477). The sitter was Lizzie Willis, the eight year old daughter of his housekeeper at his studio, 8 Fitzroy Street. C. L. Freer wrote that the painting was at various times called 'The Sparrow,' 'The Gin Girl' and 'The Juniper Bud' due to the fondness of the girl's parents for gin. See Young, Andrew McLaren, Margaret F. MacDonald, Robin Spencer and Hamish Miles, The Paintings of James McNeill Whistler, New Haven and London, 1980.

4.  Mrs V.
Edith Stuyvesant Vanderbilt (1873-1958), née Dresser, wife of G. W. Vanderbilt [more].

5.  Henry James
Henry James (1843-1916), writer [more].

6.  Jonathan
Jonathan Sturges (1864-1911), author and translator [more].