UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Vanderbilt, Edith Stuyvesant
Record 17 of 24

System Number: 05926
Date: 13 January 1902
Author: George Washington Vanderbilt[1]
Place: Biltmore, N. C.
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler V15
Document Type: ALS


[embossed:] BILTMORE HOUSE,
BILTMORE, NORTH CAROLINA.

Chère Maître

How & where are you? well I hope & in London or Paris where we may find you I hope April 1st.

I cant tell you how much my wife[2] and I missed you last winter and how [p. 2] much we count on seeing you this year.

Now that you have dismantled the rue du Bac[3], it does not surely mean that you have lost your affection for that quarter.

Wont you come and be our guest at 58 rue de Varennes during our two months stay there this spring.

[p. 3] We have two most comfortable guest rooms and you would be perfectly free as to hours & everything as you wish and would confer an everlasting pleasure upon us.

Do consider it & send me a line to 640. 5th Ave New York saying yes.

I think when you see Cornelia[4] you will feel like doing that [p. 4] head of her that we all thought would be so fine and as to Mrs V. and myself we are at your disposition.

It would be too delightful if we can have this pleasure.

My love to Jonathan[5] when you see him & my wife joins me in affectionate regards to yourself.

yours faithfully

George Vanderbilt

Jan 13. 1902


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

2.  my wife
Edith Stuyvesant Vanderbilt (1873-1958), née Dresser, wife of G. W. Vanderbilt [more].

3.  rue du Bac
In early October 1901, JW closed his Paris studio and sold 110 rue du Bac.

4.  Cornelia
Cornelia Vanderbilt (1900-1976), daughter of G. W. and E. S. Vanderbilt [more].

5.  Jonathan
Jonathan Sturges (1864-1911), author and translator [more].