The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: Vanderbilt, Edith Stuyvesant
Record 13 of 24

System Number: 05925
Date: 17 February 1901
Author: George Washington Vanderbilt[1]
Place: Dresden
Recipient: JW
Place: [Ajaccio]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler V14
Document Type: ALS

Europaischer Hof

Feb. 17. 1901

Cher Maître

Since receiveing your charming letter[2] announcing your intended trip to Spain at which I rejoiced, my wife[3] has heard from Miss Philip[4] saying you were [p. 2] on the Africain coast & at Marseilles and at Corsica. I am sorry as I think Spain would appeal to you in every way.

We stopped in Paris until the tenth of January & then came here. We are enjoying ourselves very much & studying the language and in [p. 3] a few weeks expect to go to Vienna and Munich reaching Paris April 1st to be there all of April & May. I hope you will be there during those pleasant months. My wife will be ready to give you the sittings[5] you want and I to pose for those last touches [p. 4] you wanted to give to the portrait[6] of yours truly.

I do hope you are quite well again & that your journey did you good. We are quite well & Cornelia[7] has grown a lot. I send this to Garlants[8] hoping it will catch you.

Affectionate regards from us both

George Vanderbilt

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George Washington Vanderbilt
George Washington Vanderbilt (1862-1914), collector [more].

2.  letter

3.  wife
Edith Stuyvesant Vanderbilt (1873-1958), née Dresser, wife of G. W. Vanderbilt [more].

4.  Miss Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW had been suffering recurrent bouts of ill-health and was advised to take a sea voyage. He headed for the South of France with Ronald Murray Philip (1871-1940), civil engineer, JW's brother-in-law [more], via Gibraltar, Algiers and Tangier, spending the remainder of the winter of 1901 on the island of Corsica. He did not return to London until early May.

5.  sittings
For Ivoire et or: Portrait de Madame Vanderbilt (YMSM 515).

6.  portrait
Portrait of George W. Vanderbilt (YMSM 481). Vanderbilt commissioned the work in May 1897 (see G. Vanderbilt to JW, #05914).

7.  Cornelia
Cornelia Vanderbilt (1900-1976), daughter of G. W. and E. S. Vanderbilt [more].

8.  Garlants
Garlant's Hotel, Suffolk Street where JW regularly stayed in London.