UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Search for People > Document Display

return to search results

Document associated with: Cole, Grenville
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 05639
Date: [19 April 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: William Christian Symons[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler S285
Document Type: ALS


My dear Symons -

This is no question of personal misunderstanding - it is on the contrary one of very clear understanding of the person[3] in question -

Also I refuse to be party to any plot for palming him off upon the body of distinguished Gentlemen who are to be present on this occasion. -

Your course [is][4] quite easy and coldly [p. 2] official -

Write:

Dear Sir -

I think you are under a misappre misapprehension as to your method of application -

I am only empowered to issue tickets to those whose names are submitted by the Committee, and I do not find your name on any list -

Enclosed therefore I beg to return your cheque,

and am
Yours truly
W C Symons

Now another name or two -

Granville Cole[5]
96. Philbeach Gardens - Earls Court -

Mathew Maris[6]
c/o Messrs Dowdeswell's[7]

Always sincerely

J McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
W. Christian Symons
55 Park Road
Haverstock Hill.

'Whistler'[8]



Notes:

1.  [19 April 1889]
A copy of this letter by Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more], is so dated (#12692).

2.  William Christian Symons
William Christian Symons (1845-1911), painter and designer [more]. Symons was chief organiser of a dinner in honour of JW at the Criterion on 1 May, to celebrate the award of a first-class medal at Munich and the Cross of St Michael of Bavaria.

3.  person
Mortimer Luddington Menpes (1860-1938), artist [more]. JW did not want Menpes to attend the dinner.

4.  [is]
Word covered by ink blot.

5.  Granville Cole
Granville or Grenville Cole, an acquaintance of JW , a geologist[more].

6.  Mathew Maris
Matthijs ('Matthew') Maris (1839-1917), artist [more].

7.  Messrs Dowdeswell's
Dowdeswell and Dowdeswell, art dealer and print publishers. This is added in pencil.

8.  'Whistler'
Written in another hand, in pencil.